Texas abortion law supreme court

What is the current abortion law in Texas?

On May 19, 2021, Governor Greg Abbott signed the Texas Heartbeat Act, also known as Senate Bill 8 of the 87th legislature, a heartbeat bill which outlaws abortion once a fetal heartbeat is detectable, which typically occurs in the sixth week of pregnancy. (READ MORE)

The Texas Heartbeat law, or SB 8, went into effect on Wednesday and bans abortions after six weeks, before most women know they’re pregnant.

The Supreme Court refused to block the law in a 5-4 ruling. The ruling was not on the merits of the law or the landmark 1973 Roe V. Wade decision that made abortion legal in the US. Instead, the court said it couldn’t step into the dispute, with a majority of the justices saying they were not ready for a full hearing.

“This order is not based on any conclusion about the constitutionality of Texas’ law, and in no way limits other procedurally proper challenges to the Texas law, including in Texas state courts,” they wrote.

Some states have effectively banned all abortions

Five states – Georgia, Ohio, Kentucky, Mississippi and Louisiana – have passed bills which prohibit abortion after about six weeks – before many people even realize they are pregnant.