1676213121 origin 1

FIFA Puskas Award 2022 finalists – classified

origin 1

By Sean Walsh

I don’t think I’m being dramatic when I say that the Puskas Award is probably the latest prestigious award given by FIFA.

Nobody cares about any of their ‘The Best’ awards because the Ballon d’Or and Women’s Ballon d’Or are so much more prestigious. Nobody remembers who won the coaching awards.

But THE award for the best goal scored in a given year? Yes, that’s the Puskas Prize. No question.

FIFA has narrowed the shortlist for 2022 to three goals. This is how we are at 90 minutes i think they should be classified.

3. Richarlison (Brazil vs Serbia, 2022 World Cup)

Evaluation of the occasion: 8/10Audacity rating: 8/10Aesthetic evaluation: 7/10Evaluation of uniqueness: 7/10Total: 30/40

Full disclosure: I’m a Tottenham fan who would love to see our players win three Puskas awards in a row. Son Heung-min and Erik Lamela were the last two winners, it would be nice for Richarlison to follow in their footsteps.

But as impressive and screaming as his half-over-the-head scissor kick to open Brazil’s account at the 2022 World Cup, it’s just enough to make it to the podium.

I’m sorry, Mr. Richard Arlison. I love you. Please don’t @ me.

2. Dimitri Payet (Marseille v PAOK)

Evaluation of the occasion: 6/10Audacity rating: 9/10Aesthetic evaluation: 9/10Evaluation of uniqueness: 8/10Total: 32/40

The only real knock on Dimitri Payet’s scream against PAOK is that it occurred in the Europa Conference League, which I refuse to consider as canon until the year 2050, by which time there’s a good chance the Earth has exploded by then.

We have Payet, Dimitri Payet, I don’t think you understand…

1. Marcin Oleksy (Warta Poznan vs Stal Rzeszow)

Evaluation of the occasion: 5/10Audacity rating: 10/10Aesthetic evaluation: 10/10Evaluation of uniqueness: 10/10Total: 35/40

A goal that becomes ridiculously absurd the more you look at it, the more you think about its mechanisms, the more you wonder how you would try to score it yourself.

Marcin Oleksy deserves the Puskas Prize. Point.

READ NEXT: The 50 most expensive football transfers of all time

This article was originally posted on 90min.com as FIFA Puskas Award 2022 finalists – classified.